boardger.blogg.se

What is a dropbox tool
What is a dropbox tool










what is a dropbox tool what is a dropbox tool

Next, you will get the window shown below. Next step: Put your mouse over the folder and click on the arrow to the right – a drop-down menu will appear. For my history classes, I usually use the word “share” and create folders with names like “Ancient History Share.” When you go to your Dropbox page on the web, this screenshot gives you some idea of what you will see. The first thing to do is to create a sharing folder for each class you teach so you can make information available to your students (PowerPoints, hand-outs, reading assignments, whatever). In addition to making your life a lot easier, Dropbox can be a great teaching/learning tool – and this is why I introduce it to my students. Thanks to Dropbox’s syncing magic, your documents will be up to date at all times on all devices. Since Dropbox works across platforms and devices, you can use a Mac at home, a PC at work (which I do), a Blackberry phone and an iPad, and you will have access to your documents on *all* of them (there are also Dropbox apps for iPhone, Android and Linux). Check your favorite applications to see if they have a “save to Dropbox” feature.

what is a dropbox tool

By keeping my lectures and other school materials on Dropbox, I always have access to the most recent changes.Īdditionally, many applications that you likely use (Evernote, Things, 1Password, Elements, to name a few) have a Dropbox sync option. Rushing around in the morning, it’s easy to forgot to copy the new version of a big file onto my flash-drive. My PowerPoint presentations are very image intensive and quickly get over 20MB – not an emailable size (my server limits email space to 5MB). One is to just manage your own material and make it more readily accessible. So, how can you use Dropbox as an educator? There are many ways that you can do this. Watch this and then read on to learn some of the ways I’m putting Dropbox to work in my classroom. During my free period at school, I can open that file, make a few changes, and the changes are automatically synced with my home computer. I can write a lecture or lesson plan on my computer at home, put it in my Dropbox folder, and whoosh – it’s synced with my work computer. But the short and sweet of it is this: you can use it to store and sync documents and files across computers, tablets, and smart phones. But really, what is Dropbox?ĭropbox is many things - a multifaceted tool that’s so powerful, you’ll continue to discover new ways to use it. Whether you know what the program is, you have likely heard the name. When I mention Dropbox to friends and colleagues, I usually get one of two responses – a knowing smile and nod, or a puzzled and quizzical look.












What is a dropbox tool